Friday, April 01, 2011

Class M at Secretariat Halt, Colombo

Sri Lanka Railway Department, branded "Sri Lanka Railways", is a key department of the Sri Lankan Government under the Ministry of Transport with a history that begins in 1858. Sri Lanka Railways (formerly CGR – Ceylon Government Railway) operates the nation's rail network linking Colombo - the commercial capital of Sri Lanka - and many population centres and tourist destinations.

Diesel locomotives of Sri Lanka Railway categorized in to several classes and their sub classes.

  • Class M - Main Line Locomotives (Diesel Electric)
    • Class M2 General Motors G12 locomotives are considered the most successful - being in service since 1954.
    • Class M9 Alstom Prima model has been the most unsuccessful.
    • The most powerful locomotive is Class M8 WDM-2, with 2,600 hp.
  • Class W - Main Line Locomotives (Diesel Hydraulic)
  • Class S - Diesel Push Pull Trains (Diesel Multiple Units)
  • Class Y - Shunters
  • Class N & P - Narrow Gauge

No comments: